NetApp
Storage : Volumes : Managing volumes : Changing your volume status

Changing your volume status
You can change the status of your volume when you want to take your volume offline, bring it back online, or restrict access to your volume. However, you cannot take a root volume offline.
About this task 
If you want a volume to be the target of a volume copy or SnapMirror replication operation, you have to put the volume into restricted state. You can take a volume offline to perform maintenance on the volume, move it, or destroy it. When a volume is offline, it is unavailable for read or write access by clients.
For NAS volumes, you need to unmount the volume before you can take it offline.
Steps 
1.
In the navigation pane, click Storage > Volumes.
2.
In the navigation pane, click Storage > Volumes.
3.
Select the volume for which you want to modify the status.
4.
From the Status menu, click the volume status you want.
5.
In the confirmation dialog box, click the button for the volume status that you want.